Spain bans flights with seven countries due to new COVID strain “Omicron”

World News

 Spain has banned flights to seven countries due to the new COVID strain 'Omicron'

The order will enter into force on Thursday and will apply to any connecting flights.

Spain on Tuesday, November 30, announced the suspension of flights from Yuzhno -African Republic, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini.

This was reported by The Associated Press.

The Spanish government made the corresponding decision amid the emergence of a new strain of COVID-19 Omicron, first discovered in southern Africa.

The order will take effect on Thursday and will apply to any connecting flights (the country has no direct air routes to this region).

On the territory One case of Omicron has been reported in Spain. The disease was confirmed in a 51-year-old man who flew from South Africa to Madrid via Amsterdam. The infected person was fully vaccinated and showed symptoms of lung disease.

November 26, World Health Organization qualified a new strain of SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus, which was named “Omicron”, as causing anxiety. This variant was first discovered in early November in South African countries.

Leave a Reply